Athletics News

Spring sports athletes honored at banquet


In a room packed with coaches, parents, faculty, staff and friends, Tallulah Falls School student-athletes were honored May 10 during the Spring 2016 Athletic Awards Banquet held at the Dillard House.

"Though 2015-16 was the most successful athletic year in TFS history in terms of wins, Area/Region placement, and state advancement, we are most proud of the sportsmanship of student-athletes and the daily process they took to develop our "Team First" mentality," said Athletic Director Scott Neal. "We are grateful for coaches who structure for a "Season of Significance" and who host GREAT events that represent TFS as the incredible educational family it is."

Awards were presented to participants in baseball, golf, girls soccer, tennis and track and field programs as follows: 

“I am Tallulah” award, presented by Athletic Director Scott Neal to TFS President and Head of School Larry A. Peevy for his support and leadership of all athletic programs. Shown with Peevy is multiple-award winner Michael Weidner.

Baseball awards, presented by Head Coach Patrick Mayfield

JV, Most Improved, Jun Kown; Varsity, Most Valuable, Cody Thomas; Varsity, Coaches Award, Denzel Green-Wright; JV, Coaches Award, Davis Jennings; Varsity, Most Improved Gage Webb [not pictured]

Golf awards, presented by Head Coach Allen Campbell

Girls, Most Valuable, Jenny Wang; Girls, Most Improved, Grace Brewer

Boys, Most Improved, Seth Pourbaix; Boys, Most Valuable, Michael Weidner

Girls Soccer awards, presented by Head Coach Jane Shoemaker

Most Improved, Angela Mensah; Most Valuable, Clare Barry; Heart of the Indian, Carlise Link

Tennis awards, presented by Head Coach Randy Morris 

Girls, Most Improved, Sophie Burke; Girls, Most Valuable, Michelle Namkung;  Girls, Coaches Award, Guiga Kasabkojian

Boys, Most Improved, John Oklapek; Boys, Most Valuable, Mark Faingold; Boys, Coaches Awards, Cody Reynolds

Track and Field awards, presented by Head Coach/Athletic Director Scott Neal

Girls, Most Valuable, Anna Davis; Girls , Team First Synergy Award, Maci Watts; Girls, Most Improved, Virginia Griswold

Boys, Top Performer, James Davis; Boys, Most Valuable, Ethen Besier; Boys, Coaches Award, Jesse Gulle

Scholar Athlete award, presented by Head Coach/Athletic Director Scott Neal

Boy, James Davis; Girl, Nyah Williams

GREAT Athletic Character award, presented by Head Coach/Athletic Director Scott Neal

Boy, Ethen Besier; Girl, Anne Edwards

Indian of the Year award, presented by Head Coach/Athletic Director Scott Neal

Girl, Anna Davis; Boy, Michael Weidner

Army Reserve National Scholar Athlete Award

Boy, John Luke Gallagher; Girl, Julia Nichols

Additionally, it was announced Ethen Besier was the recipient of the Georgia Track and Field/Cross Country Coaches Association Scholarship Award in the amount of $750, to be presented at the opening ceremonies at the Georgia Olympics May 14. Besier will use the scholarship at Colorado-Mesa University.