News & Announcements

Six TFS seniors accepted to UGA under early action



The University of Georgia extended good news in the form of an Early Action acceptance to six Tallulah Falls School seniors.

Seniors receiving the coveted acceptance confirmation on Nov. 17 were Anna Davis of Clarkesville, Sarah Catherine Fordham of Cornelia, Olivia Little of Clarkesville, Mackenzie Rainwater of Clarkesville, Max Teems of Sautee-Nacoochee and Michelle Thevenin of Lithonia.

Early Action [EA] with a deadline of Oct. 15, provides an avenue for highly-qualified students to apply to UGA for those interested in an expedited process. Acceptance is based on three criteria: grades through the end of the junior year; the rigor of the student's curriculum relative to the curriculum offered at his/her high school; and the result of the either the SAT or the ACT.

According to TFS College Counselor Bobby Hammond, EA is highly competitive and selective.

According to the UGA website, EA is an appropriate option for students who present competitive credentials in the three areas provided above. This year, some 15,000 students applied for EA, with 8,000 offers extended. These students earned an average GPA of 4.11, an average ACT score of 32, an average SAT score of 1390. The average number of AP, IB and dual enrollment courses is nine. Georgia’s flagship university is ranked as the 16th best public university in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report.

"We are extremely proud of these accomplished students," President and Head of School Larry A. Peevy said. "They are among the brightest of the Class of 2018; we look forward to sharing more success stories as the college admissions season unfolds."

E. Lane Gresham/Tallulah Falls School
Six members of the Tallulah Falls School Class of 2018  were accepted to the University of Georgia under Early Action. Shown, back row, from left, are Michelle Thevenin of Lithonia, Max Teems of Sautee-Nacoochee; front row, from left, are Sarah Catherine Fordham of Cornelia, Anna Davis of Clarkesville, Mackenzie Rainwater of Clarkesville and Olivia Little of Clarkesville.